2016 MEA Award Winners!!

There are many great reasons for researchers and students to become active in the MEA, but the many cash awards for student presentations, posters, and scholarships should be reason enough for entomology students in this region to attend the annual meetings. The MEA gave out ten scholarships this year, each one worth $1,000, to masters and PhD students and cash prizes for winners in the various presentation categories!

A list of award winners is given below, with photos below that (all photos by Kat Lawrence). Congrats to all!


MEA Scholarship: Christi Jaeger

Mitchell Scholarship: Ty Smith & Whitney Crow

Wilson Scholarship: Matthew Thorn & Santos Portugal

Pat and Linda Harris Scholarship: John North, Adam Whalen, Tina Nations, Sara McInnis, and Ellie Moen


Masters Paper Sec 1
1st,Chelsie Darnell; 2nd, Ty Smith

Masters Paper Sec 2
1st, Tyler Towles; 2nd; Sara McInnis

PhD Paper
1st, Ben Thrash; 2nd, Nick Bateman

Undergraduate Poster
1st, James Clements

Masters Poster
1st, Ellie Moen; 2nd, Matt Thorn

PhD Poster
1st, Santos Portugal; 2nd, Whitney Crow


MEA Merit Awards: Jennifer Seltzer, Jenny Bibb, Terry Schiefer, & Jeff Harris

MEA Distinguished Service Awards: Blake Layton & Fred Musser

Outgoing Presidential Award: Jeff Harris

Posted in MEA 2016 meeting | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

2016 MEA Conference concluded

The 63rd annual meeting of the MEA concluded today with a sumptuous feast at noon in the Bost  Building on the MSU campus in Starkville, MS.


MEA attendees enjoying a wonderful lunch provide by “Mr. Charlie”! 

Following this fantastic spread of smoked chicken, ribs, and side dishes, a large  number of awards were given to graduate students and researchers. A total of ten $1,000 scholarships were handed out today!! WOW!

Following the awards presentation, the incoming president Katherine Parys gave outgoing President Jeff Harris a special plaque for his service.

Overall, the conference was well attended and during planning meetings we discussed ways to further increase attendance and participation of students from our university and others.

Award winners will be listed soon!

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

63rd Annual Conference of the Mississippi Entomological Association

The 63rd annual Mississippi Entomological Association Conference is currently underway at the Bost Extension Building on the Mississippi State campus. This two day meeting finishes up tomorrow, Tuesday, 18 October 2016. Today’s talks were primarily by various grad students competing for cash awards.

As always, we will have an industry sponsored steak supper Monday night.  Tomorrow will feature talks by professors and other researchers in the field of entomology. A concurrent poster session is up for the duration of this two day meeting. An awards banquet/luncheon will be held at noon on Tuesday.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment